2008 NWG Woodturning Competition

This months meeting of the Nova Woodturner’s Guild was held at Lee Valley and was the awards ceremony of the 2008 Woodturning Competition.

The Nova Woodturner’s Guild Woodturning Competition is held each year with the People’s Choice award being the Warman Castle Memorial trophy. The trophy is in memory of Warman Castle, who was a longtime member of the NWG and passed away a few years ago.

Woodturning Competition

There were a total of 54 entries this year and all of them were astounding! Here, have a look:

2008 Woodturning Competition
Woodturning contest
Woodturning trophy
Woodturning warman castle

The winners of the competition were:

Open Category:
1st – Don Moore
2nd – Tie between Robert Atkinson and Stuart Taylor
3rd – Jamie Wolverton

Intermediate Category:
1st – Dave Wilkins
2nd – Tie between Dave Wilkins and Richard Ford
3rd – Calumn Ewing

Novice Category:
1st – Norm Jolivet
2nd – Ian Scott
3rd – Three-way tie between Joseph Crouse, Jean-Luc Declerck, and Blake Bayers

The Peoples Choice Award went to Dave Wilkins

It was a great meeting and a great competition!

Back to the shop…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.